Upcoming Events


Past Events

Week of January 16

Thursday, January 19
Internet introduction

Week of January 23

Tuesday, January 24
Video 3: Describing Distributions

Week of January 30

Week of February 6

Tuesday, February 7
Exam: Chapters 1&2. There is a Study Guide available.
Video 15: What is Probability
Thursday, Feburary 9
Take home on chapter 2 due

Week of February 13

Tuesday, February 14
Lab exercises from chapter 2 due
Thursday, February 16
Video 17: Binomial Distributions

Week of February 20

Thursday, February 23
Exam: Chapters 3&4 There is a Study Guide available.

Week of February 27

Week of March 6

Tuesday, March 7
Video 19: Confidence Intervals
Notebooks due: I will look at your collection of uses and abuses of statistics for the first half of the semester during the video and return them to you when the video is over.
Take home exam on chapter 6 assigned. The exam is to work the even problems out of the Chapter 6 review. Nine problems, 2 points each. Exam is due March 28.

Week of March 13

Spring Break - No Classes

Week of March 20

Thursday, March 23
Exam: Chapters 5&6 A Study Guide is available.
Video 20: Significance Tests
Introduction to Project

Week of March 27

Tuesday, March 28
Take home exam on chapter 6 due. The exam is to work the even problems out of the Chapter 6 review. Nine problems, 2 points each.
Thursday
Hypothesis Test Experiment. We're actually going to conduct a mini-project tonight. We will state a claim, collect the data to test it, perform the hypothesis test, and come up with a conclusion. Your project will be similar, except you will also have to write a paper describing the process.

Week of April 3

Tuesday, April 4
Project proposal due

Week of April 10

Tuesday, April 11
Take home exam on Chapter 7 is due. Test is to do the even problems out of the chapter 7 review. The chapter 8 take home exam will be to do the even problems out of the chapter 8 review.
Thursday, April 13
No classes after 5:10 pm because of Easter break. Since our class meets at 5:30 pm, it won't meet tonight.

Week of April 17

Tuesday, April 18
Finish chapter 8 and review for exam.
Thursday, April 20
Exam: Chapters 7&8 A study guide is available.
Dice Simulation. We're going to conduct another hypothesis test. This time we will be testing to see if dice are fair by rolling a die 600 times (actually, we'll roll 100 dice six times).

Week of April 24

Tuesday, April 25
Video 9: Correlation
Project Rough Draft due

Week of May 1

Tuesday, May 2
Project Final Draft due
Thursday, May 4
Exam: Chapters 9&10 A study guide is available.

Week of May 8

Tuesday, May 9
Project Presentations
Thursday, May 11
Project Presentations (if necessary)
Final Exam part I. This part of the final is comprehensive and consists of roughly 50 multiple-choice, true-false, and matching questions. You may not use your notes or work in groups on this part. A Study Guide is available.
Notebooks due: I will look at your collection of uses and abuses of statistics for the first half of the semester while you're taking the first part of the final exam.

Week of May 15

Tuesday, May 16
Final Exam part II. 5:30 - 7:20 pm. This is a comprehensive exam. For the first hour of the exam, you may use your notebooks. Your notebook may consist of homework, old exams, and notes. For the last 50 minutes, you may either continue to work alone and use your notebooks, or you may surrender your notebooks and work together with up to two other people. A Study Guide is available.