Math 113 - Calendar of Events


Week 1: January 15 - January 19

Monday, January 15
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - College Closed
Wednesday, January 17
"20/20" video

Week 2: January 22 - January 26

Monday, January 22
Data Collection Lab

Week 3: January 29 - February 2

Wednesday, January 31
Exam 1: Chapters 1 & 2. A study guide is available.

Week 4: February 5 - February 9

Week 5: February 12 - February 16

Monday, February 12
Lincoln's Birthday - College Closed

Week 6: February 19 - February 23

Monday, February 19
Exam 2: Chapters 3 & 4. A study guide is available. The only change from the earlier release is that the problems which were starred as being directly from the text are no longer starred or directly from the text. They are the same type of problem, though.

Week 7: February 26 - March 1

Week 8: March 4 - March 8

Monday, March 4
Project Introduction.
Wednesday, March 6
Exam 3: Chapters 5 & 6. A study guide is available.
Friday, March 8
Midterm Date. There is no midterm comprehensive exam in this class. This is just the midterm date of the semester. If you have not been attending regularly and are failing, you will be dropped administratively at this point. If you stop attending and are failing after this point but do not drop, you will receive an "F" for the class.

Week 9: March 11 - March 15

Spring Break - No Classes

Week 10: March 18 - March 22

Monday, March 18
Project proposal due.

Week 11: March 25 - March 29

Monday, March 25
Project demonstration. This will be an mini-project conducted by the class to illustrate portions of what need to be done in the project. Be sure to show up this day.

Week 12: April 1 - April 5

Friday, April 5
Good Friday - College Closed

Week 13: April 8 - April 12

Monday, April 8
Easter Break - No Classes

Week 14: April 15 - April 19

Monday, April 15
Exam 4: Chapters 7 & 8. A study guide is available.
Wednesday, April 17
Dice Simulation. Another mini-project to determine if dice are "fair".

Week 15: April 22 - April 26

Monday, April 22
Project rough draft due.

Week 16: April 29 - May 3

Monday, April 29
Project final draft due.
Wednesday, May 1
Exam 5: Chapters 9 & 10. A study guide is available.
Project presentations will begin after the exam.

Week 17: May 6 - May 10

Monday, May 6
Project Presentations
Review for the final exam.
Wednesday, May 8
Final 1. A study guide is available. This is a one-hour comprehensive multiple choice, true-false, definition type exam. There are no problems on the exam which require numerical calculations.
Project Presentations (if necessary)

Week 18: May 13 - May 17

Monday, May 13
Final 2. A study guide is available. This is a two-hour comphrensive exam which contains the portions of the course which required calculations. You will be able to use your notebook on this part of the exam. You will need the tables out of the back of your book, so don't sell it back yet (I know all of you keep your math books anyway). Portions of this exam may be worked in groups - we will discuss this option as the time draws nearer.