Math 170/171 - Calendar

Week of July 31

Tuesday, August 1
Chapters 12 - 13 Exam. A study guide is available. Project presentations will take place after the Chapters 12 - 13 exam.

Wednesday, August 2
Final Exam, Part 1. Part 1 of the final is to be individually taken. There will be no working in groups, nor using notes. It will be comprehensive, and contain material from the semester the instructor feels you should have fully comprehended. A large portion of it will be definitions, multiple choice, matching, and short answer. A study guide is available. Project presentations will continue, if necessary, after the first part of the final.

Thursday, August 3
Final Exam, Part 2. Part 2 of the final may be taken in groups and your notes may be used. The first hour will be notes only, working individually. At any point after the first hour, groups of no more than three may be formed for the remainder of the time. However, when groups are formed, the notebooks will be surrendered. For this reason, it is suggested that you answer all questions possible before going into groups. Students may not change groups, nor may they go back to their notebooks after going to a group. It will be comprehensive and contain material from the semester which the instructor feels you should be acquainted with, but not necessarily have a command of. A study guide is available.


Week of June 12

Monday, June 12
Video from ABC's "20/20" on the abuses of statistics.

Wednesday, June 13
Lab on the types of sampling. We will go into the "C" lot at Richland and perform Cluster, Random, Systematic, and Convenience sampling to record the color of the cars.

Thursday, June 15
Trip to Learning Resources Center to learn how to use Internet.

Week of June 19

Thursday, June 22
Chapters 1 - 3 Exam. A study guide is available.

Week of June 26

Week of July 3

Monday, July 3
Chapters 4 - 6 Exam. A study guide is available.

Tuesday, July 4
Independence Day, College Closed.

Thursday, July 6
Project proposal is due.

Week of July 10

Tuesday, July 11
Chapters 7 - 8 Exam. A study guide is available.

Wednesday, July 12
A Hypothesis test will be conducted to help the student become acquainted with the process of making a claim, collecting the data to test the claim, performing the calculations, and drawing conclusions.

Week of July 17

Thursday, July 20
Project rough draft is due.

Week of July 24

Monday, July 24
Chapters 9 - 11 Exam. A study guide is available.

Tuesday, July 25
A chi-square goodness of fit hypothesis test will be conducted to determine the fairness of die.

Thursday, July 27
Project final draft is due.


Last updated: Saturday, June 10, 1995 at 3:35 pm
Send comments to james@richland.edu.